Day 1
Day 2
Spectators who wish to watch the Torch Relay from the spectator area along the relay route are requested to read the safety measures on the following page in advance.
Prefecture 8 of 47
9 - 10 Apr.

In principle, the same local municipalities will manage the Olympic Torch Relay segments. But the planned route overview, the order of the municipalities, the location of celebration sites and other details may change in the future, depending on the coordination with the parties involved.

Places of interest in Wakayama

The Wakayama leg of the Torch Relay begins in the city of Shingu, located in the southern part of the prefecture, From there, it will head north, making its way to the city of Wakayama where a celebration will take place at the end of the first day. On the second day, the Torch Relay will leave the city of Wakayama, travelling across the northern part of the prefecture and arriving in the city of Hashimoto for a celebration.

Some of the sites the torch will visit on its journey across Wakayama include: the famous waterfall of Nachi in the city of Nachikatsuura, known for its powerful 133-metre drop; hasiguiiwa in the town of Kushimoto, an 850-metre stretch of around 40 large and small rocks; Wakayama Marina City featuring the popular theme park and a tuna cutting show; and Mt. Koya-san, the sacred site of Japanese Buddhism, in the town of Koya.

Torch Relay Gallery
Torch Relay Videos and Photos