Prefecture 17 of 47
27 - 28 Apr.

Local municipalities, the route and Celebration venues

In principle, the same local municipalities will manage Olympic Torch Relay segments in 2021. The route and Celebration venues will also be retained as planned; however changes may be necessary as a result of other unavoidable circumstances.

Places of interest in Kagoshima

The Kagoshima leg of the Torch Relay begins in the city of Shibushi and will journey from Osumi Peninsula through the central part of the prefecture, making its way to the city of Kagoshima where a celebration will take place at the end of the first day. On the second day, the Torch Relay will leave the city of Izumi, travelling south across the Satsuma Peninsula and arriving in the city of Ibusuki for a celebration.

The Torch Relay will also visit Amami City and Cape Sata in Minamiosumi Town during the first day, and Iriomote City and the Sogi Falls in Isa City during the second day.

Some of the sites the torch will visit on its journey across Kagoshima include: Mt. Sakurajima, the symbol of the prefecture; Cape Sata, the southernmost tip of the main islands of Japan; and the magnificent Sogi Falls, known as the “Niagara Falls of the East”.

Torch Relay Gallery
Torch Relay Videos and Photos