Prefecture 39 of 47

Important Notice

On Tuesday 24 March 2020, the International Olympic Committee and The Tokyo Organising Committee of the Olympic and Paralympic Games announced the postponement of the Olympic and Paralympic Games Tokyo 2020.

Consequently, the launch of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Torch Relay (OTR) that was scheduled to start on Thursday 26 March was put on hold while discussions took place to deal with the new developments.

A new schedule for the OTR will be decided in accordance with the decision made on the specific dates of the postponed Tokyo 2020 Games. We will make every effort to prepare for a new grand start of the OTR for everyone to take part in and celebrate.

We will be releasing updates about the OTR as soon as new information becomes available.

(As of 26 March 2020)

The following information was compiled and released before the postponement of the Tokyo 2020 Games was announced on 24 March 2020.

Places of interest in Iwate

The Iwate leg of the Torch Relay begins in Shizukuishi, ending the first day in Kuji, the second in Rikuzentakata and the third in Morioka, with a celebration taking place at the end of each day.

Some of the sites the torch will visit on its journey across Iwate include: Rikuzentakata’s Reconstruction Prayer Park, where the Miracle Pine tree (symbol of recovery from the 2011 Great East Japan Earthquake and Tsunami) stands; the restored Sanriku Railway Rias Line; Mt. Iwate, the highest peak in the prefecture; Chuson-ji Temple, a World Heritage Site and one of the main attractions of the Heian Period “Hiraizumi — Temples, Gardens and Archaeological Sites”; and Ichinohe’s Goshono ruins, part of the “Jomon Archaeological Sites in Hokkaido and Northern Tohoku”.

Torch Relay Gallery
Torch Relay Videos and Photos