Iwate17-19 Jun. 2020

Places of interest

Rikuzentakata City・Ippon Matsu (Miracle Pine)
Rikuzentakata City・Ippon Matsu (Miracle Pine)
Hiraizumi Town・ Chuson-ji Temple
Hiraizumi Town・ Chuson-ji Temple

The Torch Relay in Iwate will start in the town of Shizukuishi, and will end in the cities of Kuji on the first day, Rikuzentakata on the second day, and Morioka on the third day, with a celebration taking place at the end of each day.

The highlights of the Torch Relay in Iwate will include: the Reconstruction Prayer Park in the city of Rikuzentakata where stands the miracle pine tree, the symbol of recovery from the 2011 Great East Japan Earthquake and Tsunami; the restored Sanriku Railway Rias Line, finally connected without any interrupted parts, and the communities along the line; Mt. Iwate, the highest peak in the prefecture; Chuson-ji Temple in the town of Hiraizumi, one of the main attractions of world heritage Hiraizumi’s temples, gardens and archaeological sites from the Heian Period; and the Goshono Ruins in the town of Ichinohe, part of the “Jomon Archaeological Sites in Hokkaido and Northern Tohoku”.



DAY117 Jun.

  • Shizukuishi Town
  • Takizawa City
  • Hachimantai City
  • Iwate Town
  • Ichinohe Town
  • Ninohe City
  • Hirono Town
  • Fudai Village
  • Noda Village
  • Kuji City

Celebration site:Kuji City

DAY218 Jun.

  • Iwaizumi Town
  • Tanohata Village
  • Miyako City
  • Yamada Town
  • Otsuchi Town
  • Kamaishi City
  • Ofunato City
  • Rikuzentakata City

Celebration site:Rikuzentakata City

DAY319 Jun.

  • Ichinoseki City
  • Hiraizumi Town
  • Oshu City
  • Kanegasaki Town
  • Kitakami City
  • Hanamaki City
  • Tono City
  • Shiwa Town
  • Yahaba Town
  • Morioka City

Celebration site:Morioka City

The relay route, the municipalities where the torch relay will travel through and their order, the celebration site and other information provided above (especially the order of the municipalities the torch relay will visit) are subject to change.