Yamagata7-8 Jun. 2020

Places of interest

Tsuruoka City・Dewa Sanzan Shrine(National treasure Hagurosan Five Storeyed Pagoda)
Tsuruoka City・Dewa Sanzan Shrine(National treasure Hagurosan Five Storeyed Pagoda)

The Torch Relay in Yamagata will start from the central part of the prefecture and will journey south, making its way to the city of Yamagata where a celebration will take place at the end of the first day. On the second day, the Torch Relay will travel from the central area of the prefecture towards the north, arriving in the city of Sakata for a celebration.

The highlights of the Torch Relay in Yamagata will include: cherries, the synonym for Yamagata; Hojusan-risshakuji Temple also known as Yamadera Temple in the city of Yamagata, made famous by haiku poet Basho Matsuo; Uesugi Shrine in the city of Yonezawa worshipping Kenshin Uesugi; Mogami Park in the city of Shinjo, known for the UNESCO intangible cultural heritage, Shinjo-matsuri Festival; and the stately Dewa sanzan Shrine (National Treasure Hagurosan Five Storeyed Pagoda).



DAY17 Jun.

  • Nishikawa Town
  • Sagae City
  • Kahoku Town
  • Shirataka Town
  • Nagai City
  • Takahata Town
  • Yonezawa City
  • Nanyo City
  • Kaminoyama City
  • Yamagata City

Celebration site:Yamagata City

DAY28 Jun.

  • Tendo City
  • Higashine City
  • Murayama City
  • Obanazawa City
  • Shinjo City
  • Tsuruoka City
  • Yuza Town
  • Sakata City

Celebration site:Sakata City

The relay route, the municipalities where the torch relay will travel through and their order, the celebration site and other information provided above (especially the order of the municipalities the torch relay will visit) are subject to change.