Tokyo 2020 appoints 12 new Executive Board members


At a Council meeting that took place earlier today, the Tokyo Organising Committee of the Olympic and Paralympic Games (Tokyo 2020) resolved to amend the Articles of Incorporation to allow an increase in the maximum number of Executive Board members to 45, in order to reflect a broader range of opinions during preparations for the Games. 12 Executive Board members were newly appointed.

At an Executive Board meeting that took place on 2 March, Executive Board member Ms. ARAKIDA Yuko was also
appointed Vice President, with the aim of further promoting gender equality and respect for diversity at the Tokyo
2020 Games.

New Executive Board member
OBINATA Kuniko President, Paralympians Association of Japan. Governing Board member, Japanese Para-Sports Association
SAIKI Naoko Visiting Professor, Graduate School of Public Policy, The University of Tokyo. Vice President, Japan Skating Federation. Director, Japan Rugby Football Union
SASAKI Kaori Founder & CEO, ewoman, Inc. Founder & CEO, UNICUL International, Inc.
SHIRAISHI Yaeko President, Tokyo Sports Association for Persons with Disabilities
SHIRAHASE Sawako Professor, Graduate School of Humanities and Sociology, the University of Tokyo
TAKAHASHI Naoko Executive Board member, Japanese Olympic Committee. Executive Board Member, Japan Association of Athletics Federations
HAGA Mitsue Representative, Noboribetsu Asili Group
HAYASHI Izumi Attorney-at-Law, Partner of Sakurazaka Law Offices
HIBINO Nobuko Professor, Faculty of Culture and Sport Policy, Toin University of Yokohama. Honorary Professor, School of Sport and Exercise Science, University of Worcester
MOMII Keiko Senior Executive Board Member, Japanese Olympic Committee
YANO Harumi Gomi Professor, Associate Dean, Office of Medical Education, Center for Infectious Diseases, International University of Health and Welfare
RAITA Kyoko Professor, School of Health and Sport Science, Chukyo University