Design Shortlist for the new Kasumigaoka National Stadium Unveiled

Tokyo 2020, Japan's bid to host the 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games, today welcomed the announcement of the first round of selections for a Design Contest for the remodelling of the Kasumigaoka National Stadium. The Japan Sport Council, owner of the iconic Kasumigaoka National Stadium, selected a total of 11 out of the 46 entries for the international design competition to update and remodel the venue in preparation for Tokyo's Olympic and Paralympic Bid and the IRB 2019 Rugby World Cup.

The full list of entries(*1) selected to proceed to the second round:
– Cox Architecture pty Ltd - Alastair Ray Richardson (Australia)
– POPULOUS - Rod Sheard (Great Britain)
– UNStudio/Yamashita Sekkei Inc. - UNStudio VAN BERKEL EN BOS U.N. STUDIO B.V (The Netherlands)
– Zaha Hadid Architects - Zaha Hadid (Great Britain)
– TABANLIOĞLU Architects Consultancy Limited Company - İhsan Murat Tabanlioğlu (Turkey)
– Azusa Sekkei Co.,Ltd. - Fumihiko Sugitani (Japan)
– Toyo Ito & Associates, Architects - Toyo Ito (Japan)
– SANAA + Nikken Sekkei Ltd - Kazuyo Sejima (Japan)
– gmp • International GmbH - Hubert Nienhoff (Germany)
– Mitsuru Man Senda and Environment Design Institute - Junko Senda (Japan)

(*1)As presented by the JAPAN SPORT COUNCIL

Tadao Ando, Jury chair of the design contest and member of the Tokyo 2020 Council, said:
"As it has come time for the National Stadium to be rebuilt after half a century from its creation, we have called for ideas from near and afar with the hope of realizing an architecture of the finest quality that embodies the technology and intellect of our present age.
We have since received numerous ambitious proposals in response to our call.

It should establish a dialogue with its physical context, which includes sites such as the Meiji Shrine, and also be equipped with advanced environmental systems that take into consideration the global environment. Additionally, the project must run on a short schedule in order to be ready for hosting the 2019 Rugby World Cup."

In the first-round review, the Jury committee considered the proposals from a variety of aspects and selected eleven projects that present visions for overcoming the challenges and carry messages that announce the coming of a new age. It is our hope that an architecture that sets a standard for this new age of the Earth will soon be born."

The winner will be announced on mid-November and the award ceremony will take place late November. For images of the candidates and further details:
Bid Emblem